Results & News - October 2007 2007 Hawg Hawlers Awards Banquet

Written by Pam Wakim, President (Click any image for a larger view)

On October 20th the Hawg Hawlers Bass Club held their Annual Awards Banquet at the Knights of Columbus Hall in Washington, Missouri. Approximately 70 members and guests attended the event. President Pam Wakim welcomed the attendees. A financial report and brief Year in Review were presented by Treasurer Scott Hasty. The 2008 Officers were introduced: Pam Wakim – President, Mike Jankowski – Vice President, Greg Shands – Secretary, Jim Gross – Treasurer, Dan Durbin & Dean Sullivan – Tournament

Chairmen and a brief question and answer session preceded dinner. A slide show was presented during dinner with pictures from the 2007 tournament season.

After dinner the following thanks and recognition were given:

- Thanks to all members for fishing with Hawg Hawlers Bass Club in 2007.
- Thanks to Jason Kennedy and Brian Jankowski for assisting Officers at tournaments during the year.
- Thanks to tournament directors Terry Stanek, Bob Treadway, Tom Love, Mark Landis, Lori Luzynski, Craig Gravatte, Greg Shands, Andy Shands, Pam Wakim, Mike Jankowski, Dean Sullivan, Dan Durbin, Brian Robinson, Tom O'Connor, Scott Hasty, Jason Kennedy, Bryan Walker, Chris Walker, Dave Sona, Tom Crockett, Russ Grobe, Charlie Beach, Greg Heinz, Ken Jones, Dennis Goetes, Greg Hoch, Andrew Hoch, Brian Jankowski, Jim Evers and Andy Reynolds. Special thanks to Tom Love, Mark Landis and Bryan Walker who served twice.
- Special thanks and certificates were presented to Greg Heinz for serving as Club Historian and Charlie Beach for serving as the Club Webmaster in 2007.

Plaques were presented to the 2007 Officers Pam Wakim, Greg Shands, Scott Hasty, Andy Shands, Ken Jones and Mike Jankowski in appreciation of their service.

Club Supporters were given special thanks for all the donations we received this year. Please visit our Support page and shop with these Supporters whenever possible.

Special thanks to these club members for acquiring support and donations for Hawg Hawlers:

Charlie Beach – Beachnet Services Lori Luzynski – Koller-Craft Bryan Walker – Bass Pro Shops Ken Jones – Jones Tackle Service Terry Stanek – Rigid Wet-Dry Vacs Jason Jones – Starbucks Coffee

Scott Hasty presented a new award for "Rookie of the Year" to Jim Evers. Jim joined Hawg Hawlers this year. He fished 8 tournaments, placed twice (once fishing by himself), won big bass at a tournament and finished in eighth place for the year. Congratulations Jim!

Tournament Chairmen Ken Jones and Mike Jankowski along with special guest "CUZ" reviewed each tournament and presented plaques to the First Place teams and Big Bass winners for each lake and the

Classic tournament.

Next was the top five Big Bass Countdown.

- 5. Terry Bost, Spring Ozarks 5.66 pounds
- 4. Jason Sportsman, Spring Ozarks 6.25 pounds
- 3. Dan Ketterer, Spring Pomme 6.27
- 2. Steve Carnal, June Mark Twain 6.28 pounds

Number One Andy Shands

Big Bass of the Year 6.31 Pounds

Andy's Big Bass was caught at Mark Twain Lake on June 23rd. Andy joined Hawg Hawlers in 2004. This was Andy's first Big Bass win. Andy's bass is the 12th largest ever caught in Hawg Hawlers Bass Club. Andy was awarded the Hawg Hawlers Big Bass traveling trophy, a Big Bass of the Year photo plaque and a G-Loomis rod. Congratulations Andy!

After the Big Bass countdown plaques were awarded to Hawg Hawlers Bass Clubs Top Ten Anglers:

- 10. Charlie Beach 115 points
- 9. Ken Jones 124 points
- 8. Jim Evers 131 points
- 7. Andy Shands 135 points
- 6. Brian Robinson 137 points
- 5. Terry Stanek 139 points
- 4. Scott Hasty 154 points
- 3. Greg Shands 156 points
- 2. Bryan Walker 174 points

Congratulations Top Ten!

Number One Dave Sona

Angler of the Year 180 Points

Dave joined the club in 1994 and this is his second 1st place Angler of the Year win. Here are some of Dave's previous finishes:

$$1994 - 3^{rd}$$
, $1995 - 5^{th}$, $1996 - 2^{nd}$, $1997 - 7^{th}$, $2002 - 4^{th}$, $2003 - 1^{st}$ place Angler of the Year, $2004 - 3^{rd}$.

Dave was awarded the Hawg Hawlers Angler of the Year traveling trophy, an Angler of the Year photo plaque, an Angler of the Year jacket, a G-Loomis rod and a free membership for 2008. Congratulations Dave!

After a short break Secretary Andy Shands kicked off the attendance prize drawing. Thanks to the many donations from our Supporters, we gave away over \$6000 in banquet attendance prizes. A raffle was held for a free 2008 membership plus free tournaments in 2008 (half boat entry). Special thanks to Andrew Hoch for selling the

raffle tickets! The raffle winner was Bob Treadway. Congratulations Bob!
Thanks to Jolene Hasty, Missy Jones, Jason Jones and Melany Shands for helping us set up and thanks to everyone who stuck around and helped clean up. Thanks to Knights of Columbus for giving us a great deal every year, our caterer Hagies 19 for a great dinner, Classic Award Sports for a great job on our plaques and trophies and Bee Creative Embroidery for a great Angler of the Year jacket.
And appa again thanks to all of the
And once again thanks to all of the Hawg Hawlers members who fished with us this year. We hope you enjoyed the tournaments, chili dinner, barbeque, breakfast, and Awards Banquet. 2008 Officers will meet in early December to work on the schedule for next year. We need your input. Please use the suggestion link or email any of the Officers with your comments, suggestions and ideas for 2008. Let us know what changes you liked and which ones you didn't. Tell us what lakes you want to fish and what month you want to fish them. Let us know if you have a favorite resort or a new resort you would like Hawg Hawlers to try. We will bring all of your input to the table when we meet in December. This is your club. Let us know what you want.
Thank you all for your support this year.